Nossos serviços estão apresentando instabilidade no momento. Algumas informações podem não estar disponíveis.

Metropolitan Areas, Urban Agglomerations and Integrated Development Areas

About the publication - 2021

The current revision of the IBGE shows the creation of new Metropolitan Areas (RMs) in the states of Santa
Catarina and São Paulo.

According to Complementary Law no. 788/2021, the RMs of
Joinville, North Plateau and Jaraguá do Sul were created in Santa Catarina. In the State of São Paulo, Complementary Law no.
1,359/2021 created the RM of São José do Rio Preto, Complementary Law no. 1,360/2021 established the RM
of Piracicaba, whereas Complementary Law no. 1,362/2021 created the RM of Jundiaí. The major
consequence of the creation of the RMs of Piracicaba and Jundiaí was the extinction of the AGLOs of
Piracicaba and Jundiaí.

Neither the Development Integrated Regions (RIDEs) nor the other
Metropolitan Areas of the Brazilian states changed. Currently, Brazil has 81 Metropolitan
Areas. The state with the highest number of RMs is Santa Catarina (14), followed by
Paraíba (12), Alagoas (9) and São Paulo (9). There are three Urban Agglomerations, being one in the State
 of São Paulo and two in Rio Grande do Sul.

According to the Federal Constitution of 1988, Metropolitan Areas and Urban Agglomerations are divisions established by state
complementary laws, aiming at the
organization, planning and implementation of public services of common interest. As stated under
Article 25, 3rd paragraph of the Federal Constitution, States are responsible for establishing
Metropolitan Areas and Urban Agglomerations.

On their turn, RIDEs are established as administrative
areas that comprise different Federation Units. RIDEs are created through a specific
legislation, listing the municipalities involved and establishing their
operation and the interests of the participating political-administrative units. According to Article 43, 1st paragraph of the
Federal Constitution, the Federal Government is responsible for creating

Another highlight is the change in the geocodification of the Metropolitan Areas, Integrated
Development Regions and Urban Agglomerations. The new codification developed by the IBGE
aimed at fitting the new legal premises for the creation of Metropolitan Areas (RMs)
in Brazil, available in the Statute of Major Cities (Law no. 13,089, of January 12, 2015). A
detailed explanation about the new geocodification rules for these territorial divisions
can be found in Metropolitan Areas, Integrated Development Regions and
Urban Agglomerations - Technical Note 01/2022.